My Photo diary: #WhenInCAMIGUIN

I always visit Cagayan De Oro for business trips and knowing that Camiguin is just hours away, I have craved for the Island tour. Gladly,I took a day off and my colleague who happen to be a local there is scheduled to go home for an event. So I decided to tag along to see how beautiful Camiguin is.

IMG_0800

I took a lot of photos in my one and a half day stay at Camiguin so I decided to title this blog “My Photo Diary” so please expect a lot of photos! Haha!

But before that, I would really love to encourage everyone to visit this place. It is a perfect place for all travelers regardless of what you’re into. It is like a one-stop travel place from lakes, falls, pools, beach and a lot  more! Not to mention that people in Camiguin are very hospitable. As I have mentioned I home-stayed to a local there so I will not be able to recommend some places to stay. (Sorry for that.)Instead, check out the photos I have gathered so you won’t miss any spot!

IMG_0811

 

I traveled all the way from Cagayan De Oro proper to Balingoan port through motorcycle. (Imagine the struggle I have to endure just to spend money less hahaha ) But, you have an option to ride a bus or a van.—  We left Camiguin at 3 o’clock in the morning and arrived at 7 in the morning. The second trip which was scheduled 7 was fully booked so we have no choice but to go for the 3rd trip.

We arrived at Camiguin at 9’oclock in the morning because we obviously  missed the first and second trip of the fast craft at the Balingoan Port 😦 It would be better if you will alight in Camiguin so you can really maximize your time. Mine was just a day off because I have worked done in the nearby city which is CDO and still have to catch my flight back in Manila the next day.

Travel time from Balingoan Port to Benoni Wharf in Camiguin is 1.5 to 2 hours and will cost you P150.00

IMG_9855

IMG_9854

My first stop : Giant Clamp!!

IMG_9859

It was so heart warming because the tourist guides are children. They can even adjust to what dialect is requested by their visitors from English, Bisaya and Tagalog. Coool!! :))

 

The photo above are small (giant) clamps and baby clamps being grown in these bed with sea waters. The caretakers get these clamps to protect it from the predators that might harm their life, some predators are known sea creatures,but the biggest predator of these clamps are called HUMAN. (as what the guide said). Once the clamps grew bigger, they are brought back to the sea as their natural habitat.

IMG_9867This cutie guide mentioned a lot of scientific names I forgot! HAHA (Sorry I wasn’t prepared to take down notes). He also mentioned different types of clamps according to  its ability, I only remember one name which is called Boring Clamp. (I don’t know if I just misheard the name! They said it was called so because it just go with the flow. ) For more info you can just google it. Hahaha

IMG_9874

IMG_9873

IMG_9863

Some instagram worthy spots 😉

IMG_9877

IMG_9890

IMG_9875

IMG_9871

Tuasan Falls. 

IMG_9974IMG_9973

IMG_9927

IMG_9931

 

IMG_9936

IMG_9940

Majestic Falls.. ❤ ❤ ❤

IMG_9946

IMG_9947

IMG_9967

IMG_9954IMG_9962

IMG_9970

IMG_9956

Reminisce at Sunken Cemetery

Locals said that the Mt Vulcan and an Earthquake covered up the whole cemetery back in 1871. Which means that the coffins or should I say the whole cemetery  sank in sea-bed, maybe  turned into corrals.

 A huge cross was then made which lies 20 feet underwater to commemorate the community cemetery.

IMG_0011

IMG_0073

The cross is not near the shore line. If you want to take a look closer you have to rent a boat for only P100.00. There are guides/bangkeros who can assist you on this matter and even take photographs of you if you are traveling solo or want to take a groufie shot:)

IMG_0014

IMG_0067IMG_0057

I would like to commend our Photographer Bangkero Kuya Jeffrey who has been in this business for 20 years already. He seems to have developed expertise in both fields because of practice. He was even teaching us some pose. haha kudos!

IMG_0034

IMG_0039

( My very kind/hospitable hosts/guide Ms Eurika  and Mr Wel. )

IMG_0044IMG_0021

I even bumped to my college friend who I haven’t seen in four freaking years! HAHA sa Camiguin pa talaga???!

IMG_0069

(Engr please pay me for your exposure! haha)

16th Century Guiob Church Ruins

IMG_0007

There is no entrance fee but please feel free to leave up some donations before leaving. I also light up candles for a safe travel and for my love ones 😉

 

IMG_9977IMG_9995IMG_9981

IMG_9982You will see the ruins of the islands Old church back in the Spanish era which was called Cotta Bato.

IMG_9988IMG_9979

IMG_0004

IMG_9980

IMG_9998

The Road 

Touring around the city will require that you rent your own vehicle so it will be hassle free. It will also give you the freedom to stop by at places you find instagrammable.

IMG_0101IMG_0079

IMG_0105

IMG_0097

IMG_0080IMG_0094IMG_0087IMG_0096

White Sandbar 

My last and final stop was the famous White Sand Island. Its perfect if you will visit the place early in the morning so it will not be crowded and so hot. Remember too much sun exposure can harm your skin,so make sure to wear sunscreen and avoid the hours when sun is at its brightest.

IMG_0121

IMG_0115

For your guidance, here’s the rates. (P450/boat)

IMG_0112

IMG_0795

I suggest that before you go the island, you must be in your swimming attire because places where you can change are limited.

IMG_0791

You will ride a boat to take you to the eye-captivating white sand bar. Once you’re there you can rent an umbrella or just lay down your own carpet in the powdery-sand. Suuppeer Fiiiineee. ❤

IMG_0793

IMG_0129

IMG_0794

IMG_0158

IMG_0145

IMG_0116

IMG_0124

I never knew sea urchins are edible. o.O

IMG_0143

IMG_0173

IMG_0149

IMG_0150

I own the Island! Haha.  That’s the good thing about arriving early and visiting places when its not at its peak days 🙂

IMG_0160

IMG_0125

IMG_0184

I am in love in the clear waters, the view, and the super fine sand! I am so excited to bring you here!!!

IMG_0156

 My short stay in Camiguin was really fruitful. I got to explore the tourist spots,not all, but the most important ones. If you will go there, make sure to spend a minimum of 3 days  to get to know Camiguin more and the people maintaining these masterpiece.

Let’s schedule our visit here, shall we?

IMG_0049

IMG_9857

 

 

( I would like to express my sincere gratitude to my tour guide colleague Ms Eurika and her boyfriend.  Thank you for all your efforts in making my stay a perfect one! ) 

 

 

-N

Leave a Reply

